West Allis - Three speech-language pathologists who work with students in the West Allis-West Milwaukee School District have been honored by the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee College of Health Sciences with its prestigious 2016 Community Partnership Award.

The award recognizes what university officials called the extraordinary contributions of Lindsay Lauters who works with children at Franklin Elementary School; Jill Vanderhoef, West Milwaukee Intermediate School and Franklin Elementary School; and Sarah Zapien, Wilson Elementary School.

The three have achieved exceptional results with the students by implementing the most current, engaging, evidence-based therapies, university officials said in a news release announcing the award. The three have also shared their skills and knowledge with future speech-language pathologists at UWM. They volunteer many hours each year supervising graduate student clinicians, observing undergraduates and providing help, and sharing their expertise through various lectures and presentations at UWM, officials noted.

The college of health sciences called this collaboration and partnership critical to the college fulfilling its goal of improving the health and well-being of the community, the educators said.

Read or Share this story: http://www.greenfield-westallisnow.com/story/news/local/west-allis/2016/12/19/uwm-honors-three-west-allis-speech-language-teachers/95343408/